

# **ELECTORS' SPECIAL MEETING**

(Section 5.28 Local Government Act 1995)

# **MINUTES**

Electors' Special Meeting held in the Narrikup Hall, Hannan Way Narrikup 6.00 pm Tuesday 19 October 2021

Cameron Woods
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

## **TABLE OF CONTENTS**

ITEM		SUBJECT	PAGE NO
1	DECLARATION OF OPENING / ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS2		
2	RECORD OF ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES2		
3	SPECIAL BUSINESS		
	3.1	A PROPOSED UPGRADE TO THE INTERSECTION ALBANY HIGHWAY AND HANNAN WAY	
	3.2	A SAFE AND ADEQUATE PATH TO THE CRICK GROUND FROM THE NARRIKUP TOWN CENTR	
4	CLOSURE OF MEETING3		

#### **DECLARATION OF OPENING / ANNOUNCEMENT** 1 **OF VISITORS**

6.00pm The Presiding Member declared the meeting open.

#### **RECORD OF ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES** 2

#### Members Present:

Cr C Pavlovich Shire President Cr B Bell Councillor Elect Cr L Handasyde Councillor Elect Cr M O'Dea Councillor

Cr J Oldfield Councillor Elect

Cr K Woltering Councillor

In Attendance:

Mr Cameron Woods Chief Executive Officer

Mr David Lynch **Executive Manager Works and Services** 

#### Apologies:

Mr Bill Haines Mr Ross Mitchell

Mr Richard Stan-Bishop Ms Bev Stan-Bishop Ms Pat Fagents

#### **Electors Present:**

There were 46 electors present.

#### **SPECIAL BUSINESS** 3

- A PROPOSED UPGRADE TO THE INTERSECTION OF ALBANY HIGHWAY 3.1 AND HANNAN WAY.
- A SAFE AND ADEQUATE PATH TO THE CRICKET GROUND FROM THE 3.2 NARRIKUP TOWN CENTRE.

**Moved Jeff Schneider, seconded Carolyn Porter:** 

That Items 3.1 and 3.2 of the Agenda for the Special Electors Meeting be combined into and dealt with as a single Agenda Item

**CARRIED** 

Mr Gray Williamson Spoke against the motion.

Three electors voted against the motion.

### Moved Tony Poad, seconded Kate Harriss:

#### That:

- 1. A Working Group be established to urgently progress solutions for the issues raised in Agenda Items 3.1 and 3.2 and related road safety concerns on the 'Narrikup' section of Albany Highway between the Spencer Road Intersection and the bus stops south of the Hannan Way/Jackson Rd intersections.
- 2. The Working Group be comprised of four (4) members of the Narrikup community; the Shire President Cr Chris Pavlovich, Cr Len Handasyde, Shire Chief Executive Officer Cameron Woods and such other technical support form the Shire of Plantagenet as may be required.
- 3. The representatives of the Narrikup community to be Tony Poad, Kate Harriss, Carolyn (Cass) Porter and Jeff Schneider.

**CARRIED** 

The motion was carried unanimously.

The Presiding Member called for any further questions from the electors.

Mr Robert Howard asked: 'How long the process may take and what interim measures could be put in place?'

The Presiding Member referred the question to Cr Handasyde, who explained the process and the funding streams available.

The process timeline is unknown due to the complexity involving various levels of government, planning, engineering and funding.

The working group would be best placed to work through the issues of interim measures rather than discuss at the meeting.

## 4 CLOSURE OF MEETING

6.29pm The Presiding Member declared the meeting closed.