Code of Conduct Council Members

Recent changes to the Local Government Act 1995 saw the introduction of the Local Government (Model Code of Conduct) Regulations 2021, which took effect on 3 February 2021. The purpose of the Model Code of Conduct is to provide clear guidelines for an acceptable standard of ethical and responsible conduct. It focuses on ethical responsibility and encourages greater transparency and accountability. 

The Shire of Plantagenet Code of Conduct - Council Members, Committee Members and Candidates, adopted by the Council 23 February 2021, sets the standards for the behaviour and conduct for Elected Members, Committee Members and Candidates in line with the Model Code.

Complaints of an alleged breach of the Code of Conduct by an Elected Member must be made in writing by completing the Complaint About Alleged Breach Form.

All complaints that result in a finding that a minor breach has occurred, under Section 5.110(6)(b) of the Local Government Act 1995, will be published in the Shire's Complaints Register

All complaints and allegations will be dealt with in line with the Local Government (Model Code of Conduct) Regulations 2021 and the Code of Conduct for Council Members, Committee Members and Candidates policy. A copy of the Code of Conduct Behaviour Complaints Management Policy is available here

The Minor Breach System

The minor breach system is part of the disciplinary framework for Council Members in Western Australia under the Local Government Act 1995 (the Act). The system responds to and deters conduct by Council Members that disrupts the effective functioning of their Local Government.

This guide has been produced by the department to assist Council Members, complaints officers and members of the community to understand the system and how it works. The Act grants the responsibility for dealing with minor breaches to the Local Government Standards Panel (the Panel) and not the complaints officers. 

For more information on the minor breach system please visit the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries.

Delegated Complaints Officers

Chief Executive Officer